Winery Markus Molitor

Conscious of tradition.

  • Markus Molitor
  • Philosophy
  • Sites
  • Haus Klosterberg

The winery > Markus Molitor

Markus Molitor

In 1984, at the tender age of 20, Markus Molitor took over his father's winery with a clear aim: to produce Mosel Rieslings under the name "Molitor" in the tradition of eight generations and in the same quality that made the region world-famous 100 years ago – terroir-specific, unmistakeable and extremely storable.


"Vineyards with genuine steep slopes as opposed to the vast expanses of vineyard found in so many parts of the world are what make our terroirs unique.."

"Learning from the past" – an uncompromising commitment to quality in the manual (manual) work and selection in the vineyard and the harvest, precision in the cellar combined with our know-how and experience of nature, grapes and wine production – every terroir and every vintage manifested in the taste. Wines by Markus Molitor demonstrate the potential of the Mosel terroir – structure and depth of flavour combined with freshness and elegance. The winery is based at the centre of the Wehlener Klosterberg site and cultivates vineyards in 15 different sites, each of which is unique in its own way – and only a "Molitor terroir" for this reason.

"Planting the ideal grape variety for the respective location is the key to the quality of our wines."

The winery > Philosophy

The vineyards

Old inclination Ungrafted vines, some of them more than 100 years old, form the basis for incomparable, fine Mosel Rieslings. The steepest slopes with up to 80 % inclination are lovingly and meticulously cultivated by hand.

"80% inclination – 94% Riesling – 100% passion"

The "Molitor vineyards" are spread out over locations from Brauneberg to Traben-Trarbach and, since 2001, also along the River Saar. Due to this wide regional spread and the associated diversity of the slate soils and microclimates of the vineyards, the "Molitor Wines" represent every variety of Mosel wine.

365 days manual work
for pure pleasure

The vineyards are stocked mainly with Riesling, while the excellent Pinot Blanc and Pinot Noir are grown on certain selected areas. Pinot Noir on the Mosel? The cultivation of red wine on the Mosel was only prohibited by law in the 1930s. What a lot of people don't know: before that, large areas of the Mosel winegrowing region were covered with Pinot Noir!

Select manual work Multiple selection, pure manual work, careful examination of every individual grape – as the most work-intensive period of the year, the harvest is decisive for the quality of what ends up in the bottle. With an experienced team the grapes are picked exclusively by hand in several rounds, so that what was carefully observed and nurtured for 350 days of the year is brought to its climax in the harvest.

Time is a decisive factor. Despite the increased risk, we harvest quite late. This gives the grapes time to ripen physiologically – the most important criterion to develop the optimum balance of the wines with increased extract values and animating acidity.

"Rigorous selection, manual harvesting and careful examination are the determining principles of our activity."

"Maturity instead of Oechsle" is our approach to achieving the ideal grapes in the respective quality grades – and it is not the analysis values, but people who decide when the grapes are perfect for picking. Every grape is selected as an important part of the "Molitor Wines". By the careful separation of all ripeness stages and the post-selection of individual berries in the vineyard we achieve the highest qualities – such as for example the unique series of late harvest and botrytis grapes over two decades.

The winery > Philosophy

Vine and soil The roots of the taste

Natural careWe also place great emphasis on the natural management of resources in the cultivation of the "Molitor Vineyards". Soils enriched by exclusively organic means, deliberately gentle cultivation of the vineyards and a balanced leaf-fruit ratio deliver the desired high quality of the grapes – and set the standards for the potential of the resulting wines. High walls of leaves ensure the ideal supply of nutrients for fewer grapes per vine and promote the optimum in terms of extract yield and physiological maturity. Depending on the site, plot, density of the plants and the vintage, the harvest volume is 10 - 55 hl/ha.

"Gentle vineyard cultivation,
high quality of the grapes and physiological maturity are decisive"

Influential basisSlate not only has excellent heat storage properties, it is also distinguished by a very specific, localized mineral composition. Blueschist, grey shale and Rotliegend are the best known types of slate, while there are also numerous interim forms.

Slate is, in the truest sense of the word, the "basis" for our wines

The structure of the sub-soils forms the basis for the wines in the truest sense of the word. It influences the water supply and thus has an effect in particular on the minerality, the aroma and the sweet-acidic structure of the grapes.

The winery > Philosophy

Time to maturewithout compromises

Stone vault

Stone vault Naturalness, site characteristics, complexity and potential for ageing – in keeping with this basic philosophy, all "Molitor Wines" are made by spontaneous fermentation. We deliberately refrain from using improving agents, enzymes or other aids.

The old, three-storey vaulted cellar cut out of the slate offers an optimum, permanently cool climate with high humidity in which the wines are fermented extremely slowly.

"We believe that great wines are only possible with spontaneous fermentation."

Alongside maturation in stainless steel tanks, the wines are fermented and matured in large (1000 l, 2000 l, 3000 l) wooden barrels of high-grade, air-seasoned oak to ensure an especially natural flavour. These are the ideal maturation containers for high-quality Rieslings and, thanks to natural clarification and moderate oxygen contact, result in the same unmistakeable flavour as they have been doing for centuries.

"We give every wine the time it needs to become perfect."

Molitor wines are fermented at low temperature and slowly over months. The wines are then left to lie for several more months on the fine yeast to give them bloom and depth – the accustomed full-bodied character of the "Molitor Wines".

After a pause in winter, fermentation is ended as the temperatures start to rise in the spring. The wines are then left to lie for several more months on the fine yeast to give them bloom and depth – the accustomed full-bodied character of the "Molitor Wines".

"After the many days of work in the vineyard, almost nothing has to be done in the cellar to achieve a perfect wine."


Markus Molitor | Interview on the philosophy

Video | 05:22

Markus Molitor | Interview on the philosophy


Natural yeastIn contrast to fermentation with industrially selected yeast cultures, with spontaneous fermentation the yeasts naturally occurring on the skin of the grapes convert the grape sugar into alcohol. Numerous yeast cultures, each of which is dominant at different stages of fermentation, turn the sweet grape juice into delicious Mosel Riesling. The diversity of natural yeasts enhances the complexity of the wines and gives authentic expression to the terroir character. Another advantage of spontaneous fermentation is the lower alcohol yield.

The colour code

The colour codeThe bottles are colour coded according to the taste category of the wine. The dry wines have a white cap. The off-dry wines have a grey-green colour like slate. We do not use the term "semi-dry", as "feinherb" or "off-dry" is the historical term for this style of Mosel Riesling and provides a much better description of the flavour profile of the wines. The naturally sweet and botrytis wines have a gold cap. However, the use of a gold cap for the Molitor Rieslings is not based on any quality evaluation as might be the case with other Mosel wineries who offer gold cap, long gold cap or extra-long gold cap wines.

The winery > Sites

The sitesValuable tradition

This map is based on the results of a survey of the wine sites on the Mosel, Saar and Ruwer carried out between 1816 and 1832. In 1868 the Prussian tax authorities published the first official wine terroir classification in the world. For simplification purposes, instead of the original eight classes, the individual site representation contains only three classes, graded in different shades of dark red. In order to maintain the accustomed quality of the "Molitor Wines", only the sites of the two darkest red shades classified as particularly valuable are cultivated.


Markus Molitor | Interview on the sites

Video | 05:22

Markus Molitor | Interview on the sites


"100 years ago the top sites on the Mosel, Saar und Ruwer were among the most expensive wines in the world – more expensive even than Bordeaux."

Brauneberger Klostergarten

Overall a very mixed site. Two very steep and two medium steep plots with finely granulated slate soils and a large proportion of stones are mainly planted with Pinot Noir clones of French origin.

Brauneberger Mandelgraben

Overall a very mixed site, ranging from flat to steep. A sloping site that stretches up to the forest, and has ideal water availability even in hot, dry years, with grapes retaining their acidity very well. The rich slate soil is stony with hard quartzite and gravel, producing piquant acidity and finesse.

Bernkasteler Graben

This site is located directly beside the legendary Bernkasteler Doktor vineyard, the most expensive vineyard site in Germany (possibly the world), and is very similar in quality. Planted with extremely old Riesling vines. A relatively rich slate soil that is stony, but never dries out. The wines have an unobtrusive but highly elegant and rich fruitiness and a clear slatey flavour. The sweet wines from this site are extremely complex and complete.

Bernkasteler Badstube

The vineyards located towards the upper end of the site consist of fine slate soils with very good water-retention properties. This produces a very fresh, lively, exceptionally typical Mosel Riesling wine with stable acidity and very good maturation potential, even in the case of the lighter dry wines.

Bernkasteler Lay

Another small top-class terroir in Bernkastel, whose reputation is overshadowed somewhat by the better-known Doktor site. Here we own very good quality plots in the heart of the site with extremely old vines. The slate here is decomposed and fine, regularly producing excellent quality, very ripe harvests with extremely elegant and filigree fruit.

Graacher Himmelreich

Not as steep in all sections as the Domprobst site, but to some extent with even richer slate soils, the site produces very racy, crisp Riesling grapes with firm body and particularly good for dry or off-dry wines. This is our oldest red wine vineyard, producing Pinot Noir with lots of fire and power, needing a long time to mature and develop.

Erdener Treppchen

One of the most famous and legendary top-quality sites of the Middle Mosel. An extremely steep, classically south-facing slope, characterised by stony blue and grey slate soils that are not too dry. Produces most impressive full-bodied, elegantly fruity wines with tremendous ripeness and finesse

Ürziger Würzgarten

The "Ürziger" site is traditionally considered to be a specialty among the Middle Mosel vineyards due to its red iron-rich soil mixed with fine slate. This gives the grapes grown here a totally distinctive character, with spice and opulent fruit as well as a crisp, hearty acid backbone, which produces a tremendously full-bodied wine when combined with emphatic residual sugar, particularly in our Spätlese wines.

Zeltinger Schlossberg

This vineyard site is located above and around the Sonnenuhr site. It is also very steep and has to some extent even richer slate soils than found in the Sonnenuhr, producing crisp and hearty wines with firm acidity and a mineral aftertaste. Ideally suited for particularly dry wines.

Zeltinger Himmelreich

The largest vineyard in Zeltingen with steep slopes as well as flat sections. 95% of the areas owned by the Molitor winery are located on steep and extremely steep slopes, with only 5% in moderate slopes. The soil is made up of fine and decomposed slate, ranging from light to quite deep. Elegant, often beautifully full-bodied and juicy Riesling wines with elegant yellow fruit notes and an interplay of slate.

Zeltinger Sonnenuhr

Covering less than 20 hectares this top Middle Mosel site has mainly very old, ungrafted vines (often more than 80 years old) with fine but also very stony soils of mostly quite light blue Devon slate. The oldest and best plots are often located on small terraces with very little soil, producing very low yields (10-20 hl/ha) of exceptional quality. This site produces our greatest dry and off-dry wines as well as many of our top botrytis wines. All wines grown on the Sonnenuhr have an incomparably elegant ripeness relative to the vintage.

Wehlener Klosterberg

This is at the heart of our vineyards, and stretches up the steep slopes around the winery buildings. It is located in a side valley directly opposite Zeltingen, and faces almost due south. Light to medium-heavy stony soils of decomposed slate with a high proportion of iron to produce mineral-flavoured and long-lived wines with delicate, elegant fruit. Apart from Riesling, our elegant Pinot Blanc (Weißburgunder) grapes are also grown here.

Wehlener Sonnenuhr

This world-famous top vineyard site borders on the Zeltinger Sonnenuhr but is much more extensive, and thus more variable in quality. The soil is also very stony, but in sections somewhat deeper. It would be splitting hairs to compare the wines of the two Sonnenuhr sites, as both are of exceptionally high quality. Whereas the Wehlen wines are always impressive for their juicy fruit, their unique balance and interplay of nuances, and their slightly piquant acidity, the Zeltingen wines often have an even more impressive ripeness, and an even more incomparable filigree delicacy.

Graacher Domprobst

This is one of the top sites of Graach, relatively small and facing south-west. Here we own some very steep plots of vineyard with a fine, stony slate soil that is not too dry, and indeed is close to perfection. Full-bodied, slatey wines with great character in the dry range, but also extract-rich late harvest and botrytis grapes with a wonderful acid aftertaste.

The winery > Haus Klosterberg

Haus Klosterberg

Built at the end of the 19th century as a winery, and acquired in 1984 by Markus Molitor, the estate has been restored to its former glory by extensive renovations between 2009 and 2012. With great affection for detail, using historical and modern materials, the estate with its new Vinothek is an architectural highlight among the wineries on the Mosel and has won several awards including the "Architekturpreis Wein 2013".

The Vinothek is open to visitors without appointment from Monday to Friday from 10.00 to 17.00 hrs.

On weekends and public holidays by appointment only.

For further information and group bookings please call us at +49 (0)6532/95400-0.

We may offer you a costumised tasting of at least eight different wines – this service is 20 € per person (non-refundable).

We look forward to your visit.

Weingut Markus Molitor

Tradition.Bewusst.Sein.

  • Markus Molitor
  • Philosophie
  • Lagen
  • Haus Klosterberg

Das Weingut > Markus Molitor

Markus Molitor

Markus Molitor übernimmt 1984 im Alter von 20 Jahren das väterliche Weingut mit einem klaren Ziel: In der Tradition von acht Generationen sollen unter dem Namen "Molitor" Mosel-Rieslinge entstehen, wie sie die Region vor 100 Jahren zu Weltruhm führten – lagentypisch, unverwechselbar und extrem lagerfähig.

Markus
Molitor

"Echte Weinberge, im Gegensatz zu
den unendlichen Weingärten der Welt,
machen unsere Lagen einzigartig."

"Von früher lernen" - Kompromisslose Qualitäts-(hand)arbeit und Selektion im Weinberg, Ernte und Präzision im Keller verbunden mit dem Wissen und der Erfahrung um Natur, Traube und Weinbereitung – jede Lage und jeder Jahrgang kommen geschmacklich zum Ausdruck.

Weine von Markus Molitor zeigen das Potential der Mosel-Terroirs – Struktur und Geschmackstiefe gepaart mit Frische und Eleganz. Der Sitz des Weinguts liegt inmitten des Wehlener Klosterbergs und bewirtschaftet Weinberge in 15 verschiedene Lagen, jede auf Ihre Art einzigartig – und nur deswegen eine "Molitor-Lage".

"Die ideale Rebsorte für den jeweiligen Standort zu pflanzen ist der Schlüssel
zur Qualität unserer Weine."

Das Weingut > Philosophie

Die Weinberge

Alte NeigungBis zu über 100 Jahre alte, wurzelechten Reben als Basis für unvergleichliche, feinste Mosel-Rieslinge. Die steilsten Hanglagen mit bis zu 80% Neigung werden in liebevoller Kleinarbeit von Hand bewirtschaftet.

"80% Neigung – 94%Riesling – 100% Leidenschaft"

Die "Molitor-Weinberge" liegen von Brauneberg bis Traben-Trarbach und seit 2001 auch an der Saar. Durch die weitere regionale Verbreitung und die damit einhergehende Vielfalt der Schieferböden und Mikroklimata der Weinberge repräsentieren die "Molitor-Weine" sämtliche Spielarten des Moselweines.

365 Tage Handarbeit
für puren Genuß

Die Rebfläche ist überwiegend mit Riesling bestockt – auf ausgesuchten Parzellen wachsen die herausragenden Weiß- und Spätburgunder. Spätburgunder an der Mosel? Erst in den 30er Jahren wurde der Rotweinanbau an der Mosel gesetzlich untersagt – was viele nicht wissen: Früher waren große Rebflächen an der Mosel mit Pinot Noir bestockt!

Ausgewählte HandarbeitMehrfache Selektion, reine Handarbeit, bewusste Begutachtung jeder einzelnen Traube – die Ernte als arbeitsintensivste Periode im Jahr ist ausschlaggebend für die Qualität dessen, was in der Flasche ist. Mit einem erfahrenen Team werden die Trauben in mehreren Durchgängen ausschließlich von Hand gelesen – denn was an über 350 Tagen im Jahr sorgsam beobachtet und gepflegt wird soll in der Ernte auch seinen Höhepunkt finden.

Die Zeit ist ein entscheidender Faktor. Trotz des erhöhten Risikos wird erst sehr spät geerntet. So bleibt ausreichend Zeit für die physiologische Reife der Trauben – das wichtigste Kriterium um gesteigerte Extraktwerte bei animierende Säure die optimale Balance der Weine zu entwickeln.

"Strenge Selektion, Handarbeit und bewusste Begutachtung bestimmen
das Prinzip unseres Handelns."

"Reife statt Öchsle" lautet das Motto um in den jeweiligen Qualitätsstufen die idealen Trauben zu erhalten – es sind nicht Analysewerte sondern Menschen die entscheiden, wann das Lesegut perfekt ist. Jede Traube wird als wichtiger Bestandteil der "Molitor-Weine" ausgewählt. Durch eine sorgfältige Trennung aller Reifestufen und die Nachselektion von Einzelbeeren im Weingut entstehen die höchsten Qualitäten – wie beispielsweise die einmalige Serie an Beerenauslesen und Trockenbeerenauslesen über zwei Jahrzehnte.

Das Weingut > Philosophie

Reben & BodenDie Wurzel des Geschmacks

Natürliche VersorgungDem natürlichen Umgang mit den Ressourcen wird auch bei der Bearbeitung der "Molitor-Weinberge" große Bedeutung zugemessen. Ausschließlich organisch angereicherte Böden, eine bewusst schonende Weinbergsbearbeitung und ein ausgewogenes Blatt-Frucht-Verhältnis bewirken die erwünscht hohe Qualität der Trauben – und legen die Maßstäbe für das Potential der entstehenden Weine. Hohe Laubwände gewährleisten die ideale Versorgung weniger Trauben pro Rebstock und begünstigen ein Optimum an Extraktreiche und physiologischer Reife. Je nach Lage, Parzelle, Pflanzdichte und Jahrgang liegt die Erntemenge bei 10 - 55 hl/ha.

"Schonende Weinbergsbearbeitung,
hohe Qualität der Trauben und physiologische Reife sind entscheidend"

Einflussreiche GrundlageDer Schiefer ist nicht nur ein hervorragender Wärmespeicher, sondern zeichnet sich auch durch eine sehr spezifische, ortsgebundene, mineralische Zusammensetzung aus. Blauschiefer, Grauschiefer und Rotliegendes sind die bekanntesten Schiefertypen, die sich um zahlreiche Zwischenformen ergänzen lassen.

Schiefer ist im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes
die "Grundlage" unserer Weine

Die Struktur der Unterböden bietet im wahrsten Sinne die Grundlage der Weine. Sie beeinflusst die Wasserversorgung der Reben und wirkt sich damit ganz besonders auf die Mineralität, die Aromatik und die Süße-Säure-Struktur der Trauben aus.

Das Weingut > Philosophie

Zeit für Reifeohne Kompromisse

Steiniges Gewölbe

Steiniges GewölbeNatürlichkeit, Lagencharakteristik, Komplexität und Lagerpotential – getreu dieser maßgebenden Philosophie werden alle "Molitor-Weine" ausschließlich spontan vergoren. Schönungsmittel, Enzyme oder sonstige Hilfsmittel werden bewusst vollkommen abgelehnt.

Der alte, in Schiefergestein gehauene 3-stöckige Gewölbekeller bietet ein optimales, dauerhaft kühles Klima mit hoher Luftfeuchtigkeit, in dem die Weine extrem langsam vergären.

"Wir glauben, dass große Weine nur mit Spontanvergärung möglich sind."

Neben dem Ausbau der Weine im Edelstahltank werden die großen Lagenweine für den besonders natürlichen Genuss in großen (1000 l, 2000 l, 3000 l) Holzfässern aus hochwertiger, luftgetrockneter Eiche vergoren und ausgebaut. Für hochwertige Rieslinge sind dies die idealen Aufwachsgebinde und geben Dank natürlicher Klärung und gemäßigtem Sauerstoffkontakt den unverwechselbaren Geschmack – schon seit Jahrhunderten.

"Wir geben jedem Wein die Zeit die er braucht um perfekt
zu werden."

Molitor Weine werden kühl und langsam über Monate hinweg vergoren. Durch das anschließende monatelange Liegen der Weine auf der Feinhefe erhalten sie die weiteren Schmelz und Fülle – die gewohnte Vollmundigkeit der "Molitor-Weine".

Nach einer Pause im Winter, wird die Vergärung bei den steigenden Temperaturen im Frühjahr beendet. Durch das anschließende monatelange Liegen der Weine auf der Feinhefe erhalten sie die weiteren Schmelz und Fülle – die gewohnte Vollmundigkeit der "Molitor-Weine".

"Wenn in den vielen Tagen im
Weinberg sorgsam gearbeitet wurde,
muss im Keller fast nichts für einen perfekten Wein getan werden."

Schließen

Markus Molitor | Interview zur Philosophie

Video | 05:22

Markus Molitor | Interview zur Philosophie

05:22

Natürliche HefeBei der Spontanvergärung wandeln – im Gegensatz zur Vergärung mit industriell selektionierten Hefestämmen – die natürlicherweise auf der Beerenschale vorkommenden Hefen den Traubenzucker in Alkohol um. Zahlreiche Hefestämme, die jeweils in unterschiedlichen Stadien der Vergärung dominant sind, lassen aus süßem Traubensaft köstlichen Mosel-Riesling entstehen. Die Vielfalt an natürlichen Hefen trägt zu einer größeren Komplexität der Weine bei und bringt den Lagencharakter authentisch zum Ausdruck. Ein weiterer Vorteil der Spontanvergärung ist die geringere Alkoholausbeute.

Der Farbcode

Der FarbcodeDie farbliche Kennzeichnung der Flasche richtet sich nach der Geschmacksrichtung des Weines. Die trocken schmeckenden Weine werden mit einer weißen Kapsel ausgestattet. Die feinherben Weine verfügen über eine dem Schiefer nachempfundenen grau-grünen Kapselfarbe. Auf die Geschmacksbeschreibung „halbtrocken“ wird gänzlich verzichtet, da „feinherb“ der historisch überlieferte Begriff für diesen Ausbaustil des Moselrieslings ist und das Geschmacksprofil der Weine wesentlich besser beschreibt. Die frucht- und edelsüßen Weine werden mit einer goldenen Kapsel versehen. Allerdings liegt der Verwendung einer goldenen Kapsel für die Molitor-Rieslinge keinerlei Qualitätswertung zugrunde, wie es möglicherweise von anderen Mosel-Weingütern mit den Bezeichnungen Goldkapsel, lange Goldkapsel oder extralange Goldkapsel bekannt geworden ist.

Das Weingut > Lagen

Die WeinlagenWertvolle Tradition

Diese Karte beruht auf den Ergebnissen einer 1816 bis 1832 erfolgten Bewertung der Weinlagen an Mosel, Saar und Ruwer. 1868 veröffentlichten die preußischen Steuerbehörden die älteste, amtliche Lagenklassifikation der Welt. Statt der ursprünglichen acht Klassen enthält die Einzel-lagendarstellung zur Vereinfachung nur drei Klassen, abgestuft in unterschiedlich dunklen Rottönen. Um die gewohnte Qualität der "Molitor-Weine" zu erhalten, werden ausschließlich die als besonders wertvoll eingestuften Lagen der beiden dunkelsten Rottöne bewirtschaftet.

Schließen

Markus Molitor | Interview zur Lage

Video | 05:22

Markus Molitor | Interview zur Lage

05:22

"Noch vor 100 Jahren gehörten die Spitzenlagen von Mosel, Saar und
Ruwer zu den teuersten Weinen
der Welt – teurer als Bordeaux."

Brauneberger Klostergarten

Insgesamt sehr gemischte Lage. Zwei steile und zwei hängige Parzellen mit feinsplittrigem Schieferboden und hohem Steinanteil sind größtenteils mit Spätburgunder französischer Genetik bepflanzt.

Brauneberger Mandelgraben

Insgesamt sehr gemischte Lage von flach bis steil. Eine Hanglage bis hoch zum Wald mit idealer Wasserführung auch in heißen trockenen Jahren, wunderbarer Säure und kräftigem steinreichem Schieferboden mit harten Quarziten und Kies bringt durchaus Pikanz und Finesse.

Bernkasteler Graben

Die in der Qualität vergleichbare, unmittelbare Nachbarlage des teuersten Weinbergs Deutschlands (vielleicht der Welt), des legendären Bernkasteler Doktors. Uralte Rieslingstöcke und ein steiniger, aber nie austrocknender relativ kräftiger Schieferboden bedingen Weine mit nie vordergründiger, aber hocheleganter, schieferbetonter, reichhaltiger Frucht – im süßen Geschmacksbereich ein ungeheuer kompletter und komplexer Wein.

Bernkasteler Badstube

Die meist etwas höher liegenden Weinberge bestehen aus feinerdereichem Schiefer, der sehr gut das Wasser hält. Es entsteht ein sehr frischer, lebendiger, außerordentlich typischer Mosel-Riesling mit stabiler Säure und sehr gutem Entwicklungspotential – selbst bei leichteren, trockenen Weinen.

Bernkasteler Lay

Eine weitere kleine, nicht so bekannte Spitzenlage Bernkastels, im Rufschatten des Doktors. Die sehr hochwertigen Parzellen im Herzstück mit uraltem Rebbestand und feinverwittertem Schiefer erbringen immer wieder feinstes, hochreifes Lesegut mit hocheleganter und filigraner Frucht.

Graacher Himmelreich

Nicht überall so steil wie der Domprobst, teilweise mit noch kräftigerem Schieferboden, bringt der Weinberg sehr rassige, kernige Rieslinge mit festem Körper hervorragend trocken und feinherb hervor. Der älteste "Rotweinberg" mit viel Feuer und Kraft im Spätburgunder braucht Zeit zur Entwicklung.

Erdener Treppchen

Eine der legendärsten und berühmtesten Spitzenlagen der Mittelmosel. Die extrem steil ansteigende klassische Südlage, geprägt von einem nicht zu trockenen blauen und grauen, steinigen Schieferboden begünstigt sehr beeindruckende vollmundig-feinfruchtige Weine mit toller Reife und Finesse.

Ürziger Würzgarten

Der "Ürziger" gilt wegen seines roten eisenhaltigen mit feinem Schiefer durchzogenen Bodens traditionell als Spezialität innerhalb der Mittelmosellagen. Die Weine erhalten einen ganz einzigartigen Charakter, mit üppiger Frucht und Würze sowie einem knackigen, herzhaften Säureakzent, der verbunden mit einer betonten Restsüße besonders in den Spätlesen eine großartige Vollmundigkeit erzeugt.

Zeltinger Schlossberg

Über und neben der Sonnenuhr gelegen, ebenfalls sehr steil mit teilweise noch etwas kräftigerem Schieferboden als in der "Uhr". Die sehr kernigen, stoffigen Trauben mit fester Säure und Mineralnachhall im Geschmack eignen sich hervorragend für besonders trockene Weine.

Zeltinger Himmelreich

Die größte Zeltinger Weinlage mit steilen, hängigen, aber auch flachen Partien. Die Parzellen, die zu 95% im steilen und sehr steilen und zu 5% im hängigen Bereich liegen, verfügen über durchgängig feinst verwitterte leichte bis tiefgründigere Schieferböden. Dadurch entstehen elegante, oft wunderschön vollmundige und saftige Rieslinge mit feinen gelben Fruchtnoten und Schieferspiel.

Zeltinger Sonnenuhr

Die weniger als 20 ha große Spitzenlage der Mittelmosel mit größtenteils (oft über 80 Jahre) alten Weinbergen mit wurzelechten Rebstöcken und feinem, aber auch sehr steinigem, überwiegend recht leichtem, blauem Devonschieferboden. In den ältesten und besten Parzellen, oft mit wenig Boden auf kleinen Terrassen liegend, werden absolute Mini-Erträge (10-20 hl/ha) von Spitzenqualität erzielt. Hier wachsen sowohl die größten trockenen und feinherben Auslesen wie auch viele der edelsüßen Spitzenweine. Alle Sonnenuhr-Weine besitzen eine dem Jahrgang entsprechende unvergleichlich feine Reife und Eleganz.

Wehlener Klosterberg

Die über und neben dem Weingut steil aufsteigende Haus- und Hoflage. Im Seitental gegenüber von Zeltingen entstehen in fast reiner Südlage bei leichtem bis mitteischwerem steinigen Schiefer-verwitterungsboden mit beträchtlichem Eisenanteil mineralische und langlebige Weine mit zarter und feiner Frucht. Neben dem Riesling wachsen hier auch elegante Weißburgunder.

Wehlener Sonnenuhr

Die an die Zeltinger Sonnenuhr angrenzende weltberühmte Spitzenlage ist aber deutlich ausgedehnter und daher unterschiedlicher in der Qualität. Der Boden ist teilweise etwas tiefgründiger, obwohl ebenfalls sehr steinig. Der Unterschied zwischen den zwei "Traumuhren" ist extrem fein: beeindruckt die Wehlener immer wieder mit ihrer Saftigkeit, ihrem einzigartigen Spiel, ihrer oft ein wenig pikanten Säure, so glänzt die Zeltinger oft mit noch beeindruckenderer Reife, noch unvergleichlicherer Filigranität.

Graacher Domprobst

In dieser relativ kleinen, nach Südwesten ausgerichteten Spitzenlage von Graach liegen sehr steile Parzellen mit einem steinreichen, feinen, nahezu perfekten, nicht zu trockenen Schieferboden. Sehr charaktervolle, schieferbetonte, stoffige Weine im trockenen Bereich, aber auch absolut edle Beeren- und Trockenbeerenauslesen voller Extrakt, mit wunderbarem Säurenachhall.

Das Weingut > Haus Klosterberg

Haus Klosterberg

Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts als Weingut errichtet und 1984 von Markus Molitor erworben erstrahlt das Anwesen nach umfangreichen Renovierungsarbeiten 2009 – 2012 in neuem Glanz. Mit viel Liebe zum Detail, historischen und modernen Materialien ist das Gut mit seiner neuen Vinothek ein architektonisches Highlight unter den Weingütern an der Mosel – u.a. ausgezeichnet mit dem "Architekturpreis Wein 2013".

Die Vinothek ist für spontane Besuche von
Montag bis Freitag von 10:00 Uhr bis 18:00 Uhr geöffnet.
Wochenende und Feiertage nur nach Terminvereinbarung

Für weitere Termine und Gruppenanfragen kontaktieren Sie uns bitte unter +49 (0)6532/95400-0

Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Besuch!